Bible Verse Of The Day-Saturday December 28, 2013

Posted: December 28, 2013 in Daily Devotional
Tags: , , , , , , ,

image

We live in a culture of discontentment. If you don’t believe me, just turn on your television, log onto the Internet, or take a stroll down Main Street. We’re being attacked by an all-out blitz designed to make us think, “If only I had.”

If only I had a bigger house, if only I had a faster car, if only I had a better job, if only I had a different spouse, if only I had a greener yard, if only I had a tighter set of abs, if only I had whiter teeth, if only I had more clothes, if only I had . . .

It’s as if the world would stop spinning if everyone collectively said, “I’m satisfied with what I have and with where my life is at.”

This sort of satisfaction is just what Jesus promises to those who come to Him. He is the bread of life, and a heart that is fully occupied with Him will never go hungry. He is the wellspring of life, and a soul that is connected to Him will never thirst. The little things of this world are nothing when compared to the abiding presence of the eternal God. When this perspective is in proper focus, life isn’t a matter of “If only I had” but “I can’t believe what I have!”God has promised to be our source of satisfaction in life. But in order to experience His promise, we need to do our part by abiding in Him and allowing His presence to be first in our hearts and minds.

Leave a Reply

